November 21st

Today we celebrate the Feast of Christ the King.  The entire liturgical year is meant to help us walk with Our Lord in the various events of His life.  The liturgical year starts in Advent (which is quickly approaching) and ends with today’s Feast.

The liturgical calendar ends with the Feast of Christ the King for a purpose: this Feast stands at the end of the year to remind us that at the end of time Christ will come in glory to judge the living and the dead.  At the end of time every knee will bend and every tongue confess that Jesus Christ is Lord.  (cf. Philippians 2:10-11)  When Christ comes in glory He will establish His Kingdom on earth and of His Kingdom there will be no end.

Although the reign of Christ on earth will not be perfectly realized until the end of time, Jesus Christ already reigns at the right hand of the Father in the glory of Heaven.  Furthermore, we are called to allow Him to reign in our hearts.

Jesus is our King.  He Who is already our King on account of His divinity is further our King through His Passion by which He redeemed us.  Through Him we were created: through Him all things were made; in Him we live and move and have our being.  He has redeemed us with His Precious Blood, He gives life to our souls by His grace, He nourishes us with the gift of Himself in the Eucharist, He guides and directs our lives by His loving providence at every moment.

We should readily offer our mind, our heart and our will to such a loving King.  He is all-powerful, He is all-knowing; He loves us and He desires our eternal happiness.  Let us entrust ourselves completely, all that we are and all that we have, into the most loving and merciful hands of Christ our King.

[An act of Consecration to Christ the King]: “O divine King, most amiable Jesus, my Redeemer, my Savior, my Spouse, my Master and model, I renew today the total consecration of my being to You, begging You to take absolute dominion over me.  Be my Sovereign, my Ruler, my Guide.  Direct and govern me entirely, so that everything may turn to Your greater glory.  Be King of my memory, of my intellect, of my will, of my emotions; I wish all to be completely subject to You and I invite You to reign in me.”  Amen.

God bless,

Father White

