July 19th

My name is Father Charles White. I was just ordained a priest a little over a month ago.  Some of you may have already seen me around the parish; I started my assignment here as an associate pastor as of July 1st.  I am very happy to be here at Our Lady of Good Counsel Parish.  I look forward to serving you and getting to know you.  Please be patient with me as I learn names and faces.

Just to let you know a little bit about myself: I grew up on the East side in Sterling Heights.  After high school I served in the United States Air Force both in the U.S. as well as overseas in Germany.  After serving in the military, I worked for a short time as a contractor for the local auto industry.  I have spent the past eight years at Sacred Heart Major Seminary.

I am a convert to the Catholic Faith.  I grew up primarily attending Baptist church on Sundays, but I have also attended the Lutheran church.  My mother’s side is Baptist and my father’s side is Lutheran.  I entered the Catholic Church in 1998.  I received the Sacraments of Baptism (I was never baptized as a child), Confirmation and First Holy Communion at the Easter Vigil of that year.

I’ll write more about what drew me to the Catholic Church in future articles (it is the first question that I am asked when people find out that I am a convert).  Know that you are all in my daily prayers and please pray for me.

God bless,

Father White

Leave a Reply

